Press "Enter" to skip to content

US lifts tourist travel alert for Cancun, Riviera Maya

Cancun, Q.R. — The United States Department of State has updated their travel alert for visitors to Mexico, this time excluding all areas and destinations in the state of Quintana Roo.

In August of 2017, the US Department of State sent out a travel alert that included the state of Quintana Roo, pointing out main beach destinations such as Cancun, Riviera Maya and Cozumel. This week, however, they have revoked the travel alert for the state and in particular, lifted travel restrictions to the destinations of Cancun, Cozumel, Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Riviera Maya.

The updated travel alert recognizes the problems of violence that continues in various parts of the country, but has excluded from this alert the tourist areas of Quintana Roo and Baja California Sur, the main destinations for vacationers.

The US Department of State says that in the case of Baja California Sur, there is no problem for American citizens traveling to Cabo San Lucas, San Jose del Cabo and La Paz.

For the Nayarit, much of the state is considered dangerous except Riviera Nayarit, Santa María del Oro and Xalisco.

Guadalajara, Puerto Vallarta, Chapala and Ajijic, Jalisco’s main tourist destinations were also excluded from the US travel alert.

This year, the Canadian Government also updated their travel alert for Mexico, suggesting Canadian citizens avoid traveling to several western and northern states that border with the US including Guerrero, Colima, Jalisco, Michoacán and Nayarit.