Press "Enter" to skip to content

State bodies push to declare Tulum, Isla Mujeres as sustainable

Tulum, Q.R. — Regional government associations are in the process of trying to push for two state areas to become Zones of Sustainable Tourism Development.

A team composed of representatives from the Ministry of Tourism (SECTUR), the National Fund for Tourism Promotion (FONATUR), the State Secretariat of Tourism (SEDETUR) and the municipalities of Tulum and Isla Mujeres, are putting together the necessary paperwork to declare regions of Isla Mujeres and Tulum as sustainable.

They say the declaration is to preserve the richness and natural beauty of Tulum and the peninsular area of Chacmuchuc, Isla Mujeres.

According to SEDETUR, the Sustainable Tourism Development Zones are a recognized figure in the General Tourism Law (2006), but there is no precedent of declaration in any state, which for Quintana Roo, represents the possibility of being the first to conserve the natural resources.

Estimates from the National Population Council report that over the past eight years, the seaside town of Tulum has grown by 24 percent, while Isla Mujeres has expanded by 22 percent.

According to state officials, the Zones of Sustainable Tourism Development have an active tourism industry, have attractions that are currently used and can continue to be used in the future.

In addition, they satisfactorily meet criteria for sustainability, conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity in their planning and operation to consolidate tourism activity as a source of quality employment, investment, training and development to improve the standard of living.

SEDETUR indicated that to date, the team has held working meetings with representatives of city councils and field work for the collection of information that provides the technical information necessary to obtain the new declaration.

The declaration is issued based on the provisions of the Regulation of the General Tourism Law and in accordance with the evaluation and opinion of the committee composed of the Ministry of Tourism, the Government Secretariat, the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources, the Ministry of Communications and Transportation and the Secretariat of Agrarian, Territorial and Urban Development.