Press "Enter" to skip to content

Spring ahead time change does not apply to Cancun, Riviera Maya

Cancun, Q.R. — While it’s time to spring ahead, cities such as Cancun and Playa del Carmen do not observe Daylight Savings Time.

Throughout Mexico, 30 of the 32 states do observe the spring ahead, fall behind time changes, however the states of Sonora and Quintana Roo do not. During this time, vacationers in Cancun and Riviera Maya may have gotten up an hour earlier than thought assuming the spring ahead time change applied.

However, in 2015 the state of Quintana Roo opted out of the country’s DST regime. Following the establishment of its own time zone since 2015, Mexico’s easternmost state observes Eastern Standard Time (EST) year-round.

The state of Sonora is the only other state in Mexico that also does not change its clocks. Its rationale is to stay in sync with its neighbors in the US state of Arizona where Mountain Standard Time (MST) is observed all year.

In the rest of the Mexican states, Daylight Saving Time (DST) is observed, but at different times. Mexican states that border with the United States follow the US daylight savings schedule. States such as Baja California and cities including Tijuana, Ciudad Juárez and Ojinaga start DST on the 2nd Sunday in March and end on the 1st Sunday in November.

For the rest of the country, excluding Sonora and Quintana Roo, DST runs from the 1st Sunday of April to the last Sunday of October, a period in which the country experiences it’s greatest amount of sunlight, reducing the daily energy consumption.

According to the Ministry of Economy, in 2017 the energy saved during DST was enough to provide lights to 571,000 homes or “the equivalent to the consumption of 7.78 million self-ballasted compact fluorescent lamps turned on for a year, 24 hours a day.”