Press "Enter" to skip to content

Seasonal summer flights to Cancun have begun

Cancun, Q.R. — Several non-stop flights between American cities and Cancun have begun as the summer travel season kicks off.

Flights between Memphis and Cancun, Mexico are back starting May 19 with flights departing Memphis International at 8:30 a.m. on Saturdays. Several airlines are offering the service including Aeromexico, Delta, American Airlines and United.

Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority board chairman Pace Cooper said the flights provide a great option for vacationing families.

“Hundreds of passengers take advantage of Vacation Express’ annual service between Memphis and the popular vacation destination of Cancun,” Cooper said in a release.

American Airlines says that they will operate some of its routes to Cancun, Mexico with Boeing 787-8 Dreamliner aircraft, in a three-times-per-week schedule. The flights will include those leaving from both Chicago O’Hare and Dallas-Fort Worth.

Normally covered by smaller aircraft such as the A321 or 737-800, the change is being made to offer an improved passenger experience with a three-class layout including 28 business seats with flat-beds and direct aisle access.

Jose Maria Giraldo, American Airlines’ Director for Mexico said that “With the operation of the new 787-8 to Cancun, passengers will have a cutting-edge experience with state of the art technology for comfort and entertainment.

“We are proud to offer this new, wonderful product”, he added.

The non-stop seasonal routes will continue until August 4, however, beginning November 4, American Airline’s Dreamliners full schedule will add:

Chicago O’Hare to Cancun
AA1417 ORD 0825 – 1306 CUN
AA1503 ORD 1005 – 1449 CUN
AA1417 CUN 1400 – 1657 ORD
AA1503 CUN 1535 – 1831 ORD

Dallas Fort Worth to Cancun
AA2684 DFW 1250 – 1634 CUN
AA2684 CUN 1743 – 1940 DFW

The company says that as part of reprogramming of their routes, some routes offered to Central and South America have been reduces while others, such as flights to Argentina, Mexico, Guyana and Colombia, have been added.