Press "Enter" to skip to content

New municipal presidents sworn in across state

Cancun, Q.R. — Sunday marked the day of the swearing in of new government officials across the state. New mayors have officially been sworn in, taking over the reins from the previous administrations.

Governor Carlos Joaquín was on hand for each of them, starting in the state’s capital city of Chetumal where he swore in its mayor, Hernán Pastrana Pastrana. Swearing in the administrative heads one at a time, the governor made his way up the coast.

Swearing in of new Tulum mayor, Victor Mas. Photo: Ayuntamiento de Tulum

Along the route, he swore in the new mayor for Tulum, Víctor Mas Tah who is replacing Romalda Dzul Caamal. In Playa del Carmen, Laura Beristaín Navarrete will lead the municipality of Solidaridad, taking over from Cristina Torres. In Puerto Morelos, Laura Fernández Piña will remain for a second term.

Ceremony for Isla Mujeres. Photo: Ayuntamiento de Isla Mujeres

Cancun and the municipality of Benito Juárez will now be headed by María Elena Hermelinda Lezama, while Juan Carrillo Soberanis will remain mayor of Isla Mujeres for another term.

“It is important to be with the municipal presidents who start their work today in coordination with the state government and the federation. There is a lot of work to do. We have to have more initiatives and achieve more and better opportunities for the inhabitants of the municipalities,” said Carlos Joaquin in a speech in José María Morelos.

All will serve their terms from 2018-2021.