Press "Enter" to skip to content

New Magic Towns of Mexico named for 2018

Mexico City, Mexico — Announcements for the new magical towns throughout Mexico were recently made at a gala in Mexico City.

A total of 10 towns were chosen to become part of the Magic Towns that will now be listed and promoted as such in the country’s tourism promotion. The towns chosen met all the requirements set by the program promoted by the Ministry of Tourism.

The announcement was made during the 5th National Fair of Magic Towns, accompanied by the Governor of Michoacán, Silvano Aureoles, Secretary De la Madrid said that Magic Towns represent a fundamental pillar of our tourist offer and have become an engine of economic growth, local and regional development, and social welfare for many Mexican families.

The 10 new Magical Towns are Tlaquepaque, Jalisco. Comonfort, Guanajuato. Melchor Muzquiz, Coahuila. Guadalupe, Zacatecas. Compostela, Nayarit. Zimapán, Hidalgo. Nombre de Dios, Durango. Amelaco de Bonfil, Querétaro, Aquismón, San Luis Potosí and Bustamante, Nuevo León.

The Secretary of Tourism of the Government of the Republic, Enrique de la Madrid Cordero, pointed out that since our first Magical Town was named in 2001, the program has been able to strengthen and show the world and Mexicans the extraordinary historical, cultural and natural wealth, as well as the quality and warmth of the inhabitants of the 111 towns that make up the Magical Towns.