Press "Enter" to skip to content

Hotel Association of Riviera Maya announces new president, board

Playa del Carmen, Q.R. — The Hotel Association of Riviera Maya says that a new face will soon be heading the association for the region with the announcement of a new president and board.

After 14 years at the head of the Hotel Association of Riviera Maya Jean Agarrista will leave his position to Conrad Bergwerf, who has been elected to be the new head of the association.

Bergwerf will have a heavyweight management team that includes Lolita Lòpez Lira from Grupo Lomas and Carlos Constandce from Xcaret Destination among other important owners and executives of the hotels located in Riviera Maya.

Bergwerf says their mission will be to promote initiatives such as security, sustainability, promotion, training and inclusion.

The Hotel Association of Riviera Maya represents 135 lodging centers that total more than 30,000 rooms placing it as a top destination in Mexico, surpassing Cancún.

Conrad Bergwerf will lead the organization for the period 2018-2020, which will begin in October when the management of Agarrista ends. With this new leadership also comes a new board of directors.

Conrad Bergwerf is currently Managing Director of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla & La Esmeralda and has more than 20 years in the hospitality industry, a majority of which has been with Meliá Hotels.

Bergwef has also managed hotels in Vietnam, Indonesia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Spain and the Dominican Republic.

His new position as president of the Hotel Association of Riviera Maya will begin October first. His Director General will be Manuel Paredes. The main board will consist of Carlos Constandse (Xcaret Experiences and Destination Group), Dolores López Lira (Royal Dorado Hotels), Andrea Lotito (Posada Barrio Latino), Ramón Rosselló (HM Playa del Carmen) and José María Figuereo (Barceló Group). Treasurer will be Nestor Ospina from The Reef Resorts.