Press "Enter" to skip to content

Heads of state arrive for Mexico’s presidential hand over

Mexico City, Mexico — More than 120 heads of states have begun to arrive in Mexico City for the change of presidential hands on December 1.

On December 1, Andrés Manuel López Obrador will be sworn in as the new president of Mexico. International visitors from around the globe have begun to arrive for the event. On the list include heads of states of nearly every Latin American country as well as European friends of Mexico.

The presidents of Cuba, Bolivia, Ecuador, Venezuela, Honduras, Dominican Republic as well as the Prime Minister of Curaçao and the president of the of the Supreme People’s Assembly of Korea are only some who will attend the ceremony.

Photo: Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores Photo: Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores

On the list are also Michael R. Pence, Vice President of the United States of America, Ivanka Trump, adviser to the White House and Kirstjen Nielsen, secretary of the US Department of Homeland Security.

Within hours of handing over power, Peña Nieto says goodbye to Mexicans with a farewell message. “I want to express to you in this farewell message my gratitude for six years accompanied by many Mexicans I worked with to promote the great transformations that the country required,” said Peña Nieto in an address to the country.

According to Reforma, Peña Nieto left the presidential office with the lowest approval rating in recent years with only 28 percent. He was Mexico’s president from 2012 to 2018.

On December 1, Peña Nieto will hand over the presidency to Andrés Manuel López Obrador in a ceremony that will take place at the Congress of the Union of Mexico City.