Press "Enter" to skip to content

Elections see new mayors for Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Tulum

Cancun, Q.R. — Elections across Mexico came to a close Sunday night as more than 89 million took to the polls. Aside from a new county president, other political positions including municipal heads, were also voted on.

In Cancun, for the municipality of Benito Juarez, Mara Lezama, candidate for Morena-PT will become the new mayor. Lezama is reported to have won by a landslide, finishing at least 20 points ahead of her rivals.

At a rally she held shortly before midnight Sunday, she vowed not to fail those who voted for her.

Lezama said she had already received a congratulations from the presidential candidate of the Juntos Haremos Historia coalition, the same coalition as the new president of Mexico, Andrés Manuel López Obrador.

Laura Fernández Piña, candidate of the Por Quintana coalition, will be returning to head Puerto Morelos noting she had received more than 4,000 votes.

“We are very happy because today Puerto Morelos residents have expressed in the polls in favor of the project that I head, which is an inclusive citizen. I will continue with the transformation that this historic community deserves,” said Laura Fernández.

In Tulum, Víctor Mas Tah, candidate for the municipal presidency of Tulum for the PAN-PRD-MC coalition, won with just over 8,000 votes.

At a press conference accompanied by his wife, electoral team and candidates for aldermen, the aspiring mayor thanked all the Tulum people for coming to vote, especially those who trusted in their government project “difference for Tulum.”

The municipality of Solidaridad will also see a new mayor. Now heading Playa del Carmen is Laura Beristain Navarrete, who won with more than 31,000 votes over Chrintina Torres, who came in second with more than 29,000.

Official figures are still being released, however the preliminary results released by the Electoral Institute for the state of Quintana Roo are as follows:

Municipality of Benito Juárez
105,659 Mara Lezama
22,181 Jose Luis Acosta Toledo
21,792 Issac Janix Alanis
15,925 Pablo Bustamante
11,578 Niurka Sáliva

Municipality of Cozumel
15,672 Pedro Joaquín D
12,529 Perla Tun
7,785 Juanita Obdulia Alonso Marrufo
744 Salvador Rocha Vargas
544 Gloria MEX

Municipality of Felipe Carrillo Puerto
10,058 José Esquivel Vargas
9,835 Paul Perera Maldonado
6,319 Mary Hernández Solís
845 Francisco Poot Kauil
547 Fany Fabiola Cahum Fernández

Municipality of Isla Mujeres
5,244 Juan Carrillo
3,543 Edgar Gasca Arceo
2,494 Faustino Uicab
484 Julio Cesar Osorio Magaña
84 Rossana Martinez Cen

Municipality of José María Morelos
7,209 Sofia Alcocer Alcocer
5,533 Rossana Romero
4,099 Erik Borges Yam
1,757 Jose Domingo Fleet Castle
450 Marta Eugenia Canul

Municipality of Lazaro Cárdenas
7,523 Josue Nivardo Mena Villanueva
2,999 Trinidad García Arguelles
1,449 Fabiola Cervera Vidal
1,428 Maria Elena Ruiz Molina
1,147 Alma Margarita Lomas

Municipality of Othón P. Blanco
29,822 Hernán Pastrana
14,966 Fernando Zelaya
8,944 Mary Hadad
6,137 Julio Taquito
4,930 Manuel Valencia Cardín

Municipality of Solidaridad
31,291 Laura Beristain Navarrete
29,638 Cristina Torres
14,543 Martín de la Cruz Gómez
4,407 Luis Roldán

Municipality of Tulum
8,014 Víctor Mas Tah
6,994 Marciano Dzul Caamal
2,421 Eloisa Balam Mazum
206 Wendy Ruiz Aguilar

Municipality of Bacalar
5,419 Alexander Zetina Aguiluz
4,720 Rivelino Valdivia
2,154 Nelia Uc Sosa
1,975 Trinidad Guillen Nuñez
391 Prudencio Alcocer Balam

Municipality of Puerto Morelos
4,569 Laura Fernández Piña
3,268 Juan Pablo Aguilera
2,313 Ludivina Menchaca
232 Eloisa Trinidad Zetina