Press "Enter" to skip to content

Daylight Savings Time arrives in Mexico, well, most of it

Mexico — Daylight Savings Time has arrived in Mexico, but not all states observe the time change at the same time with two states not observing the change at all.

The new winter time change will occur at 2:00 a.m. on October 28, which means most people around the country will move their clocks back one hour before they go to bed the night of October 27.

However, there are more than 30 municipalities along the northern border that follow the DST schedule of the United States, which ends on the first Sunday in November.

This year, those northern municipalities will observe the DST time change on November 4. They include:

Baja California: Tijuana, Mexicali, Ensenada, Rosarito Beach and Tecate

Chihuahua: Juárez, Ojinaga, Ascension, Coyame del Sotol, Guadalupe, Janos, Manuel Benavides and Praxedis G. Guerrero

Coahuila: Acuña, Piedras Negras, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jiménez Zaragoza, Nava and Ocampo

Nuevo León: Anáhuac and Los Aldama

Tamaulipas: Nuevo Laredo, Reynosa, Matamoros, Camargo, Guerrero, Gustavo Días Ordaz, Mier, Miguel Alemán, Rio Bravo and Valle Hermoso.

The two Mexican states that do not observe Daylight Savings Time (DST) at all throughout the year are the states of Sonora, to stay in sync with the neighboring US state of Arizona, where Mountain Standard Time (MST) is observed all year and Quintana Roo, who has opted out of following the country’s DST regime and in 2015, began observing EST year-round.

For those observing DST, sunrise and sunset will be about one hour earlier on October 28 than the day before, which means there will be more light in the morning.