Press "Enter" to skip to content

20 candidates announced for position of Attorney General for Quintana Roo

Chetumal, Q.R. — With the official closing of applications for Attorney General of the State of Quintana Roo, congress reports that 20 people have applied for the position.

In an official statement, Congress of the state of Quintana Roo says that the 20 applicants include 18 men and two women who will be processed in a transparent manner, confirms Deputy Carlos Mario Villanueva Tenorio.

He explained that the Special Commission will review files to determine if those who applied meet the requirements, where after they will define a shortlist of six to 10 candidates that will be sent to the executive who will then propose a list of three candidates.

The Chairman of the Special and Temporary Committee, Deputy Carlos Mario Villanueva Tenorio says “The process for the appointment of the state prosecutor proceeds according to the times stipulated in the convocation that was approved by State Congress.

“On November 17 registration closed. Now it is the review of each one of the 20 files to determine if they comply or not with the established requisites, which, for this, the Special and Temporary Commission has this task.”

Villanueva Tenorio says that “the procedure has the objective to choose among the best candidates for this transcendental responsibility as it is the enforcement of justice.”

He noted that to hold the title of prosecutor, candidates must meet requirements such as being Mexican by birth, have a residence not less than 5 years in the country, be 35 years old on the day of the appointment, be licensed in law for a minimum of 10 years with registered ID, be in full exercise of political and civil rights and not have been convicted of a fraudulent crime.

During the final phase, members of the Legislative Power will call the three proposed candidates to appear and thereafter, the three will be put to a vote. Whomever obtains a minimum of two thirds of the members of the legislature will be designated Fiscal General of the State for the next nine years.